New Cast Members Join Brixton Club House’s Taboo In December

New cast members will join the revival of Boy George’s Taboo on 29 December. The ’80s-set play about outrageous artist Leigh Bowery, Boy George and the birth of the New Romantic scene is playing at the Brixton Club House until 31 March 2013.

Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts graduates Paul Treacy (left) and Jordan-Luke Gage will take on the roles of pop icon Boy George and Marilyn, alongside Devon-Elise Johnson as Kim.

Further cast members include Alex Jordan-Mills as Billy, Julia Worsley as Josie, Paul Kevin-Taylor as Derek/Petal, Sarah Goggin as Janey and Matthew Gent in the ensemble. They join current cast members Paul Baker and Sam Buttery, who continue as Philip Salon and Leigh Bowery, respectively, as well as Owain Wiliams as Steve Strange, Katie Kerr as Big Sue, and ensemble members Jennifer Hepburn and Zeph Gould.

Taboo follows aspiring photographer Billy as he experiences the '80s London club scene and encounters some of its brightest stars including Steve Strange, Leigh Bowery, Sallon and of course, Boy George. Both Billy’s and Boy George’s stories are played out against the background of Taboo, the nightclub that came to symbolise the excess and decadence of 1980s London.

Taboo premiered in the West End in 2002 before opening on Broadway in 2003. Its book is by Mark Davies Markham, and it features some of Boy George’s biggest hits as well as an original score orchestrated by Kevin Frost. This production of Taboo is helmed by the show’s original director and co-creator Christopher Renshaw.

For more information and to book tickets for Taboo at the Brixton Club House, click here.